Paulo Coelho’s Counterpoint to my take on Climate change

Over the weekend, my wife was reading my last blog post [Climate Change Bollywood Ishtyle] and, at the same time, Paulo Coelho‘s – The Winner Stands Alone. I suspect she may have been hoping against hope that his literary talent will rub off on me through her! And guess what, she suddenly found herself reading about his take on climate change. Synchronicity? Disbelievingly I listened as she read out the following lines that, Coelho – through one of the central characters [Hamid] – professes. His take is quite the antithesis [counterpoint] of my view. It cannot be too good for my ego to even consider such a course but there’s something in there that’s worth a closer look. I have reproduced the lines here …

Paulo Coelho's latest book

Saving the earth? How can we be so arrogant? The planet is, was, and always will be stronger than us. We can’t destroy it; if we overstep the mark, THE PLANET WILL SIMPLY ERASE US from its surface and carry on existing. Why don’t they start talking about not letting the planet destroy us?

Hamid Hussein, The Winner Stands Alone

I know this sounds crazy guys, but I can’t help agreeing with him. Sorry Mr. Ego, you’ll have to eat humble pie this time!!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
One thought on “Paulo Coelho’s Counterpoint to my take on Climate change

  1. Pingback: Posts about activism as of August 10, 2009 » BLOGVIDEOS

Leave a Reply

